Wall tiles are shiny, and wood planks are woody
 
HomeHome  TwitterTwitter  YouTubeYouTube  SearchSearch  GintendoGintendo  GRcadeGRcade  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share
 

 Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Balladeer
I'M EVEN LONELIER
Balladeer

Posts : 21460
Points : 20356
Join date : 2013-01-16
Age : 30
Location : Admintown

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptySat 15 Feb 2020 - 11:47

Stolen from GRcade who stole it from ResetEra. We all know the 'x game/developer/console is overrated' opinions, but what are some opinions about games and the gaming environment that you have that are positive? What game, or part of a game, do you like that others don't? Feel like Other M's story was actually pretty great? Or that latter-day Konami's got a bad wrap? Post about it here, and agree (or disagree I guess...) with other people.

(Quick note: make sure they're actually positive! So if you're going to say 'x game is better than y', y should be a game that you and other people like.)

Here's some of mine to start off:


Twilight Princess is still one of the best games of all time. The dungeon designs are top, Hyrule Field feels epic to ride through, and Midna is great. I prefer it to OoT (which I still love).

Kid Icarus Uprising had one of the best control schemes I've ever played with... in the air.

The Wii U had a lot of really good ideas. To this day I think the Gamepad was a genuinely good controller (and telly remote).

Untitled Goose Game was a delightful experience and good game that fully deserved both its price tag and the amount of attention it got.

Dexit was a much-needed cut to a series that had over 800 species rampaging around, stupid numbers of attacks, and noticeable power creep.
Back to top Go down
https://balladsandwords.wordpress.com/
Buskalilly
Calamity Forumite
Buskalilly

Posts : 11562
Points : 11700
Join date : 2013-02-25
Age : 29
Location : Nagano

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptySat 15 Feb 2020 - 14:58

Skyward Sword's swordplay, music, art, story, characters and puzzles outweigh any negatives regarding its structure.

Excite Truck was and is fucking excellent and deserves to be brought back at least as much as F-Zero.

There has never been a bad Starfox.

Mario Kart 8 is properly good and there's no reason to discount it from conversation compared to Nintendo's other masterpieces.
Back to top Go down
https://www.gintendo.co.uk/a-luke-at-japan
masofdas
Disciple of Miyamoto
masofdas

Posts : 19256
Points : 19555
Join date : 2013-01-18
Age : 30
Location : VITA Island

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptySat 15 Feb 2020 - 15:11

The Wii U is fantastic and is just going to be written out of history Crying or Very sad

Virtual Boy is neat and had some good games especially Wario which really needs a port/remaster

Jaguar, 3DO both had good games on them and shouldn't really talked about worse systems ever when things like the GX4000 exists

Xbox are doing some of the best things in gaming from a consumer point of view with Game Pass, Anywhere, Adaptive Controller, Inclusiveness etc

Last Story doesn't get talked about enough even though it's great
Back to top Go down
gjones
Shiny Shuckle
gjones

Posts : 927
Points : 958
Join date : 2015-01-12
Age : 33
Location : London

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptySat 15 Feb 2020 - 21:31

Condemned 2: Bloodshot is one of the best horror games ever made.

Twilight Princess is indeed, one of the best video games of all time. My favourite Zelda.

I see a lot of love for indie darlings like Nidhogg, but IK+ is better and STILL great fun to play.

Burnout Revenge (360 version) is the best Burnout game.

WWE Smackdown: Shut Your Mouth is the best wrestling game, not WWF No Mercy.
Back to top Go down
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10297
Points : 10387
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptySun 16 Feb 2020 - 0:33

gjones wrote:
WWE Smackdown: Shut Your Mouth is the best wrestling game, not WWF No Mercy.

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Giphy

Honestly though as much as I love No Mercy my favourite wrestling games belong to the fire pro wrestling series.
Back to top Go down
Muss
Disciple of Greener
Muss

Posts : 1585
Points : 1595
Join date : 2015-04-03
Location : The 5th Dimension

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptySun 16 Feb 2020 - 1:39

Balladeer wrote:


The Wii U had a lot of really good ideas. To this day I think the Gamepad was a genuinely good controller (and telly remote).


Always loved the Wii U Gamepad. Surprisingly ergonomic, tactile, and it's extra functionality as a tv remote or a netflix tablet was grand.

Back to top Go down
Jimbob
Sheegoth
Jimbob

Posts : 3567
Points : 3589
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 37
Location : Milton Keynes

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptySun 16 Feb 2020 - 19:35

In all fairness, none of these opinions seem really ridiculous so far! (that's not an opinion I'm putting forward) (nor is that) (nor is...)


Hmmm...

Solar Jetman is an immensely clever game, and shouldn't have been ignored by everyone when they bought Rare Replay and instead played the unfairly difficult Battletoads.

The old platform puzzle adventure games of the 80s home computer era should be revisited; if nothing else, it's nice that there were solutions outside of just shooting people.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider was the best of the most recent trilogy - it's definitely the most fun to go treasure hunting in.
Back to top Go down
http://jimbobsonofriber.tumblr.com/
Balladeer
I'M EVEN LONELIER
Balladeer

Posts : 21460
Points : 20356
Join date : 2013-01-16
Age : 30
Location : Admintown

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyMon 17 Feb 2020 - 18:53

In keeping with the positivity, I'm just going to mention the ones I agree with! Others I disagree with or am in no place to talk about.

masofdas wrote:
The Wii U is fantastic and is just going to be written out of history Crying or Very sad

Muss wrote:
Always loved the Wii U Gamepad. Surprisingly ergonomic, tactile, and it's extra functionality as a tv remote or a netflix tablet was grand.

I'm liking the Wii U love, although I suppose if not here, where? Re. the Gamepad, what everyone else called Fisher Price-like, I called easy to hold!

masofdas wrote:
Xbox are doing some of the best things in gaming from a consumer point of view with Game Pass, Anywhere, Adaptive Controller, Inclusiveness etc

This is true, especially the adaptive controller thing.

masofdas wrote:
Last Story doesn't get talked about enough even though it's great

It was very good. I think if it had an overworld and didn't come out at around the same time as Xenoblade it would be more fondly regarded.

gjones wrote:
Twilight Princess is indeed, one of the best video games of all time. My favourite Zelda.

Yass Jones! Obviously it's not my fave any more, but there seems to have been a massive retrospective backlash which I don't understand. It was ugly at the time, that's not new.
Back to top Go down
https://balladsandwords.wordpress.com/
Crumpy Andy
Brush God
Crumpy Andy

Posts : 4371
Points : 4375
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 27
Location : The South

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyMon 17 Feb 2020 - 20:31

Imma let you finish, but the Yakuza series is the greatest OF ALL TIME 😉
Back to top Go down
Balladeer
I'M EVEN LONELIER
Balladeer

Posts : 21460
Points : 20356
Join date : 2013-01-16
Age : 30
Location : Admintown

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyMon 17 Feb 2020 - 21:04

Is that any more controversial than saying Mario, or Zelda, or Souls? Might be just the people I know, but I feel like Yakuza is held in damn high regard.
Back to top Go down
https://balladsandwords.wordpress.com/
The Cappuccino Kid
The Sausage to Go For
The Cappuccino Kid

Posts : 4619
Points : 4736
Join date : 2013-02-25
Age : 101
Location : East of Mombasa

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyMon 17 Feb 2020 - 21:37

The_Jaster wrote:
gjones wrote:
WWE Smackdown: Shut Your Mouth is the best wrestling game, not WWF No Mercy.

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Giphy

OOFT! That's a bold statement! As much as I'd like to agree, I think there's two wrestling games that are just a little bit better than Shit Your Mouth. Still, no questions asked, it's got the best credits in gaming history:



The other opinion that stands out to me is Buskalilly's one on Excite Truck...he's not wrong! All four of the Excite games that we got in Europe are class - what a shame we didn't get Excitebots!

~

My opinions:

It hasn't ever got any better than the Nintendo 64 controller. It's perfect. It was forward-thinking, took gaming out of it's early-to-mid 90s funk, and it was really comfortable! 

The format that Intelligent Systems used for Sticker Star and Colour Splash is absolutely the direction to take the Paper Mario series. Granted, the 3DS and Wii U games can be criticised for a few things, but I honestly don't think that them not being RPGs is one of them. I think they should keep going with this more action-orientated style of gameplay.

NiGHTS: Journey of Dreams on the Wii is, at points, a 10/10 game. There's parts where it might even be better than Super Mario Galaxy.

...I'll maybe think of more.
Back to top Go down
Crumpy Andy
Brush God
Crumpy Andy

Posts : 4371
Points : 4375
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 27
Location : The South

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyTue 18 Feb 2020 - 9:43

Balladeer wrote:
Is that any more controversial than saying Mario, or Zelda, or Souls?  Might be just the people I know, but I feel like Yakuza is held in damn high regard.
I think the rep has grown significantly in the last few years, sure, but I wouldn’t say many put it up there with the other 3 😂
Back to top Go down
Kriken
F-Zero Rookie
Kriken

Posts : 129
Points : 129
Join date : 2019-02-06

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyTue 18 Feb 2020 - 12:34

I think Sonic CD is one of the best Sonic games. This game is overall thought of pretty well but it seems to be a bit divisive. A lot of fans of the old Sonic games really don't like it. However, I've had a blast with the remastered version of it and it's an excellent remaster. The game looks clean with a great aesthetic and it has maybe my favourite Sonic soundtrack - the Japanese/EU version, though the US version isn't bad either - in a series that usually has great music in even the really bad games.

Sword/Shield are some of the best Pokemon games despite their flaws. And again, it has one of the more solid soundtracks in a series that has a great record in that area.

Fire Emblem Fates Conquest is one of the best Fire Emblem games. In short since it's been said enough: gameplay good, story bad - though I wouldn't say offensively bad, and the narrative was kind of fresh at least.

Persona 2: Innocent Sin is one of the RPG greats.
Back to top Go down
masofdas
Disciple of Miyamoto
masofdas

Posts : 19256
Points : 19555
Join date : 2013-01-18
Age : 30
Location : VITA Island

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyTue 18 Feb 2020 - 12:40

Interesting on Sonic CD as I'm a older fan and it's maybe my favourite part from Pocket Adventure.
Back to top Go down
OrangeRakoon
Disciple of Overton
OrangeRakoon

Posts : 1157
Points : 1160
Join date : 2015-05-06
Age : 27
Location : Reading, UK

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyWed 19 Feb 2020 - 11:44

Balladeer wrote:
I'm liking the Wii U love, although I suppose if not here, where? Re. the Gamepad, what everyone else called Fisher Price-like, I called easy to hold!

It's both those things! Surprisingly very comfortable to hold, nice and light, but looks rubbish (and fisher price!) and has an awful quality screen with awful resistive touch. Using the gamepad as a controller = fine. Using it as a handheld = terrible.
Back to top Go down
http://www.orkn.uk
masofdas
Disciple of Miyamoto
masofdas

Posts : 19256
Points : 19555
Join date : 2013-01-18
Age : 30
Location : VITA Island

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyWed 19 Feb 2020 - 13:00

A newish one but Stadia

Take yesterday Stadia announced its coming to more phones along with more deals which leads to people like Chris Scullion tweet what's a Stadia and others doing the same

Clearly people are sort of paying attention as you wouldn't be tweeting about it, also got people like Phil Spencer still saying Google and Amazon is the actual competition not PlayStation or Nintendo.

People can have their own opinion on it and not be for them but I've been using Stadia since mid December and it works, community is great and when I'm on a late then early or something the next day it's really handy and quick because of almsot lack of load times to play a few games of Crucible on Destiny 2 or few races in GRID.

That's my positive that it is a working platform and does have it's benefits, which if you looked at the internet you wouldn't see. Now it does have fault's like game library being small and most stuff being RRP but that will improve over time.
Back to top Go down
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10297
Points : 10387
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyWed 19 Feb 2020 - 17:50

Oh I think I have one, Super Mario Bros 2 is best 2D Mario game & it also gave us some of the best enemies of the series like shyguy and Pokey.
Back to top Go down
Balladeer
I'M EVEN LONELIER
Balladeer

Posts : 21460
Points : 20356
Join date : 2013-01-16
Age : 30
Location : Admintown

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyWed 19 Feb 2020 - 19:43

I could criticise Cappa's Paper Mario point as beating down on the early Paper Mario games rather than praising the later ones, but you'd all call me out for being biased towards TTYD rather than strictly adhering to the rules.  You'd be right. Laughing

Kriken wrote:
Sword/Shield ... has one of the more solid soundtracks in a series that has a great record in that area.

This is very accurate.  See: Drunka's recent project.  We hardly scratched the surface.

OrangeRakoon wrote:
It's both those things! Surprisingly very comfortable to hold, nice and light, but looks rubbish (and fisher price!) and has an awful quality screen with awful resistive touch. Using the gamepad as a controller = fine. Using it as a handheld = terrible.

When are you concentrating on how the thing looks, even when you're looking at it?  I was always too focussed on the screen to care about its appearance.  It's no Switch, but it did the handheld thing fine.

The_Jaster wrote:
Oh I think I have one, Super Mario Bros 2 is best 2D Mario game & it also gave us some of the best enemies of the series like shyguy and Pokey.

I don't agree with this, but I can understand that point of view and the second bit is definitely right.  In fact, let me launch into some more of my own:


Shy Guy is the best Mario mook, and one of the best mooks in gaming.  

Vaati is a better villain than Ganon (who is still good!) and deserves more limelight.

Pokémon designs are now (Gens. 7 and 8) as good as they've ever been, including Gens. 1 and 2.

Miiverse is the best social network that has ever existed.

Motion controls were a good general idea, and with Motion+ they were really great.  I wish the Switch did more motion stuff, although you'd have to play it on the telly.  

Semi-transparent controllers and consoles should make a comeback.  They were too good-looking to be the fad they appear to have been.
Back to top Go down
https://balladsandwords.wordpress.com/
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10297
Points : 10387
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyWed 19 Feb 2020 - 22:21

Balla wrote:
Motion controls were a good general idea, and with Motion+ they were really great. I wish the Switch did more motion stuff, although you'd have to play it on the telly.

They are great middle ground of controller versus mouse and it's honestly quite annoying more devs haven't took advantage of the type of motion aiming you get in Splatoon or BotW. I'd love to see this sort stuff at least tried in online shooters, for example something like R6 Siege would benefit massively because without a lot of practice it's hard to make the fine adjustments to your aim that you sometimes need.
Back to top Go down
OrangeRakoon
Disciple of Overton
OrangeRakoon

Posts : 1157
Points : 1160
Join date : 2015-05-06
Age : 27
Location : Reading, UK

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyThu 20 Feb 2020 - 10:49

Balladeer wrote:
Semi-transparent controllers and consoles should make a comeback.  They were too good-looking to be the fad they appear to have been.

https://blog.us.playstation.com/2017/09/01/translucent-dualshock-4-colors-hit-store-shelves-this-month/
Back to top Go down
http://www.orkn.uk
gjones
Shiny Shuckle
gjones

Posts : 927
Points : 958
Join date : 2015-01-12
Age : 33
Location : London

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyThu 20 Feb 2020 - 12:56

The_Jaster wrote:
Balla wrote:
Motion controls were a good general idea, and with Motion+ they were really great.  I wish the Switch did more motion stuff, although you'd have to play it on the telly.  

They are great middle ground of controller versus mouse and it's honestly quite annoying more devs haven't took advantage of the type of motion aiming you get in Splatoon or BotW. I'd love to see this sort stuff at least tried in online shooters, for example something like R6 Siege would benefit massively because without a lot of practice it's hard to make the fine adjustments to your aim that you sometimes need.

I was reading reviews for The Conduit and Conduit 2, and the controls seemed to be a big positive. The same with the Metroid Prime Trilogy. So it's clear that motion controls do work well with FPS titles - I guess there was no need for them once the Wii-U became a flop.

Speaking of best GTA games - Saints Row 2 (yes, two!) is the best GTA game. At least, it's the best iteration of the PS2 GTA formula, where you still have kill-frenzies, insurance job missions, destruction derbies and the like.
Back to top Go down
OrangeRakoon
Disciple of Overton
OrangeRakoon

Posts : 1157
Points : 1160
Join date : 2015-05-06
Age : 27
Location : Reading, UK

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyThu 20 Feb 2020 - 13:51

I love wiimote aiming but hate gyro aiming, so the world has gone wrong Sad
Back to top Go down
http://www.orkn.uk
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10297
Points : 10387
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyThu 20 Feb 2020 - 17:37

gjones wrote:
The_Jaster wrote:
Balla wrote:
Motion controls were a good general idea, and with Motion+ they were really great.  I wish the Switch did more motion stuff, although you'd have to play it on the telly.  

They are great middle ground of controller versus mouse and it's honestly quite annoying more devs haven't took advantage of the type of motion aiming you get in Splatoon or BotW. I'd love to see this sort stuff at least tried in online shooters, for example something like R6 Siege would benefit massively because without a lot of practice it's hard to make the fine adjustments to your aim that you sometimes need.

I was reading reviews for The Conduit and Conduit 2, and the controls seemed to be a big positive. The same with the Metroid Prime Trilogy. So it's clear that motion controls do work well with FPS titles - I guess there was no need for them once the Wii-U became a flop.

Yeah, that's probably part of it but it's probably just that the bigger FPS games just don't need to take the risk because what they use control-wise has been the norm for decades. I'm not expecting it to be the default option but just position it to be an alternative choice, anyhow you do still see it pop a little bit as I think motion control is there as an option on the Switch versions of Fortnite and Doom 2016.
Back to top Go down
masofdas
Disciple of Miyamoto
masofdas

Posts : 19256
Points : 19555
Join date : 2013-01-18
Age : 30
Location : VITA Island

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyThu 20 Feb 2020 - 17:55

The issue is Ubisoft for instance with upcoming Rainbow Six Quarantine, I just don't see them putting the time in to have the Dual Shock 4/5 to use gyro as the Xbox/Stadia/Other controllers don't have it.

Where you bring up DOOM, where it comes to Switch a port team are just handling that version, where they can use the Switches features such as gyro.


Last edited by masofdas on Thu 20 Feb 2020 - 20:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Kriken
F-Zero Rookie
Kriken

Posts : 129
Points : 129
Join date : 2019-02-06

Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions EmptyThu 20 Feb 2020 - 19:51

Love motion controls. Some things in games are better controlled with motion than with buttons/sticks. Also really liked Wii aiming but have come around to gyro aiming. Not like I use it much on the 3DS but it's particularly suitable for the console since it's sometimes more practical than touchscreen aiming - like on OoT where you're normally not actively using the touchscreen to aim, like on say Prime Hunters.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty
PostSubject: Re: Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions   Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions Empty

Back to top Go down
 
Your Controversial POSITIVE Gaming Opinions
Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Post You Favorite Halloween Smilies/Gremlins
» Opinions - Puzz3D games
» Oak Tree Gaming
» Why are Chaotic Cards So Expensive?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GNamer Forum :: Gaming Miscellaneous :: General Gaming Discussions-
Jump to: