Don't be a Wooloo: Vote for Jeremy Corbiknight on Thursday
 
HomeHome  TwitterTwitter  YouTubeYouTube  SearchSearch  GintendoGintendo  GRcadeGRcade  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share
 

 Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome

Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 17 ... 29  Next
AuthorMessage
JayMoyles
Din's Power
JayMoyles

Posts : 13933
Points : 13259
Join date : 2013-01-21
Age : 26
Location : Courtroom No. 3 at 10am.

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptySun 10 Feb 2013 - 12:27

Confirmed: delicious and I can play 13 unique songs on a McCoys crisp.
Back to top Go down
http://www.jamesjmoyles.blogspot.com
fronkhead
Disciple of Scullion
fronkhead

Posts : 1616
Points : 1694
Join date : 2013-01-18

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptySun 10 Feb 2013 - 16:25

Seconded on the McCoys front, some of my favourite crisps (except when they accidentally put too much flavouring on them). Seebrooks do good ones too - like a thinner, lighter crisp alternative to McCoys (not cut as thickly).

ZeroJones wrote:
Walker's Deep Ridged Salt & Malt Vinegar Crisps

---

These deep ridged crisps promise "ridges twice as deep" "for epic satisfaction". Only part of that is true, at least for the salt and vinegar flavour. The ridges make for an interesting crisp but it's more difficult to eat than it needs to be, and when you've just typed "it's more difficult to eat than it needs to be" about a crisp, something has gone Wrong.

Pros:

* Being Walker's guarantees some quality
* Very filling
* Very flavoursome...

Cons:

* ... but a poor flavour
* Expensive (77p for a 50g pack)
* Hard to eat (I know)

Overall: a decent experiment but a flawed one. If you liked your crisps with ridges, there's only been one company to buy from for a long time. Stick with those real McCoy's.

56%

Nail on head. I found the extra ridges to cut into my gums easily and they actually put me off the Walkers Crinkles from which they were based off - the Cheddar and Onion ones simply had too much flavouring on them (thanks to the larger ridges) which made them sickly. Never again.
Back to top Go down
Treesmurf
Ice Climber
Treesmurf

Posts : 2846
Points : 2841
Join date : 2013-01-17
Age : 29
Location : Manneh

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyMon 11 Feb 2013 - 0:37

ZeroJones wrote:
Walker's Deep Ridged Salt & Malt Vinegar Crisps

---

These deep ridged crisps promise "ridges twice as deep" "for epic satisfaction". Only part of that is true, at least for the salt and vinegar flavour. The ridges make for an interesting crisp but it's more difficult to eat than it needs to be, and when you've just typed "it's more difficult to eat than it needs to be" about a crisp, something has gone Wrong.

Pros:

* Being Walker's guarantees some quality
* Very filling
* Very flavoursome...

Cons:

* ... but a poor flavour
* Expensive (77p for a 50g pack)
* Hard to eat (I know)

Overall: a decent experiment but a flawed one. If you liked your crisps with ridges, there's only been one company to buy from for a long time. Stick with those real McCoy's.

56%
Disagree with the flavour being poor but I know exactly what you mean by "hard to eat", my mouth is like a cat owner's face after I've eaten some of them.
Back to top Go down
https://www.youtube.com/user/treesmurf11/featured
Fancy Fancy
Luiginoid
Fancy Fancy

Posts : 227
Points : 247
Join date : 2013-01-16
Location : Vitaboro

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyMon 11 Feb 2013 - 22:55

Back to top Go down
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10178
Points : 10268
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 12 Feb 2013 - 0:34

Mini review: I had a more caramel snickers the other day, pretty good & not as chewy as it sounds.

78%
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 12 Feb 2013 - 14:38

Gregg's Sausage Roll

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Tumblr_llwyr7W42Q1qh16eyo1_400

Pros:

Staple of lunchtime for everybody, be you working-class, inner-city bigwig, toddler in a pram or trampy student
Addictive
Low-budget
There's a Greggs every three doors down
Allowed me to break a twenty and go get a bus


Cons:

What meat is in this? Seriously?
Floppy and salty, like a fanny
Less nutritional value than anything else ever cooked
Always leaves you thirsty

65%

This is the toughest review I've ever had to write. They're a classic, but they're gross as well. Maybe my opinion has been swayed by this whole horsemeat thing.
Back to top Go down
JayMoyles
Din's Power
JayMoyles

Posts : 13933
Points : 13259
Join date : 2013-01-21
Age : 26
Location : Courtroom No. 3 at 10am.

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 12 Feb 2013 - 15:15

I always find Gregg's sausage rolls really greasy. Now their sandwiches - now we're talking.
Back to top Go down
http://www.jamesjmoyles.blogspot.com
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10178
Points : 10268
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 12 Feb 2013 - 22:28

JayMoyles wrote:
I always find Gregg's sausage rolls really greasy. Now their sandwiches - now we're talking.

yep, they really do have some good sandwiches but they still haven't topped the old ham & egg extra bite.
Back to top Go down
SuperPaperLink
F-Zero Rookie
SuperPaperLink

Posts : 127
Points : 127
Join date : 2013-02-02
Age : 26

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 12 Feb 2013 - 22:39

Fancy Fancy wrote:
http://kotaku.com/5983276/15-flavors-of-japanese-kit-kats-the-snacktaku-review

Fifteen flavours of Kit Kat? Shocked
Those crazy Japanese.

Phillips wrote:
Floppy and salty, like a fanny

Please tell me I'm not the only one to pick up on this? A floppy fanny? Never had one of those... Or even a particularly salty one Laughing
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyWed 13 Feb 2013 - 0:12

SuperPaperLink wrote:


Phillips wrote:
Floppy and salty, like a fanny

Please tell me I'm not the only one to pick up on this? A floppy fanny? Never had one of those... Or even a particularly salty one  Laughing

Fanny

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Piers-morgan-1

Pros:

MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

Cons:

Hoachin'.

95%


Last edited by Balladeer on Tue 28 May 2019 - 22:22; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Not as good without the picture - now restored to something like its former glory.)
Back to top Go down
The Cappuccino Kid
Brush God
The Cappuccino Kid

Posts : 4509
Points : 4626
Join date : 2013-02-25
Age : 100
Location : East of Mombasa

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyWed 6 Mar 2013 - 0:14

First of all, I'd like to apologise on behalf of Guest for writing a review of fanny. I'm assured that Guest had been down the pub for several hours before hand, and was less drunk than absolutely f**king c**ted.

Secondly, has nobody eaten anything in the last three weeks? Here comes Phillips:

~

Lebkuchen

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Lebkuchen3500

DISCLAIMER: I had never, ever heard of this stuff as of ten minutes ago. I just saw a packet in the kitchen and wired in.

Pros:

Surprisingly dense!
Very tasty
Flavours do indeed remind me of Christmas!
Probably not as bad for you as other cakes

Cons:

Contains almond...almond cake...which *could* also be jobby.
It's Christmassy food in March
Thirsty work

82%

A huge surprise. I genuinely hadn't a clue what to expect, but the faint gingerbread/nutty taste and the moreishness of them was great. Having these again.
Back to top Go down
Treesmurf
Ice Climber
Treesmurf

Posts : 2846
Points : 2841
Join date : 2013-01-17
Age : 29
Location : Manneh

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyWed 6 Mar 2013 - 0:59

It looks dry, and meat like, worrying, I know you've given it a decent review but graphics mean a lot for me when it comes to snacks.
Back to top Go down
https://www.youtube.com/user/treesmurf11/featured
The Cappuccino Kid
Brush God
The Cappuccino Kid

Posts : 4509
Points : 4626
Join date : 2013-02-25
Age : 100
Location : East of Mombasa

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyWed 6 Mar 2013 - 1:05

treesmurf11 wrote:
It looks dry, and meat like, worrying, I know you've given it a decent review but graphics mean a lot for me when it comes to snacks.

It looks like I picked the worst photo I could. http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=lebkuchen&psj=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&bvm=bv.43287494,d.d2k&biw=1366&bih=667&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=FpY2UaLlCoTbPdTzgPAD
Back to top Go down
fronkhead
Disciple of Scullion
fronkhead

Posts : 1616
Points : 1694
Join date : 2013-01-18

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyWed 6 Mar 2013 - 1:25

Oh yes, are those spiced Christmas cakes? Love those, though they do get samey after a while.

Back to top Go down
JayMoyles
Din's Power
JayMoyles

Posts : 13933
Points : 13259
Join date : 2013-01-21
Age : 26
Location : Courtroom No. 3 at 10am.

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyWed 6 Mar 2013 - 2:08

Phillips wrote:
First of all, I'd like to apologise on behalf of Guest for writing a review of fanny. I'm assured that Guest had been down the pub for several hours before hand, and was less drunk than absolutely f**king c**ted.

I can't believe I hadn't seen that before. Amazing. Laughing
Back to top Go down
http://www.jamesjmoyles.blogspot.com
Balladeer
I'M EVEN LONELIER
Balladeer

Posts : 20924
Points : 19875
Join date : 2013-01-16
Age : 30
Location : Admintown

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyWed 6 Mar 2013 - 7:38

Phillips wrote:
First of all, I'd like to apologise on behalf of Guest for writing a review of fanny. I'm assured that Guest had been down the pub for several hours before hand, and was less drunk than absolutely f**king c**ted.

That Guest. You can't trust him with anything. Wink
Back to top Go down
https://balladsandwords.wordpress.com/
Treesmurf
Ice Climber
Treesmurf

Posts : 2846
Points : 2841
Join date : 2013-01-17
Age : 29
Location : Manneh

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyThu 7 Mar 2013 - 22:14

Phillips wrote:
treesmurf11 wrote:
It looks dry, and meat like, worrying, I know you've given it a decent review but graphics mean a lot for me when it comes to snacks.

It looks like I picked the worst photo I could. http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=lebkuchen&psj=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&bvm=bv.43287494,d.d2k&biw=1366&bih=667&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=FpY2UaLlCoTbPdTzgPAD
Ahh I see, now they look delightful.
Back to top Go down
https://www.youtube.com/user/treesmurf11/featured
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10178
Points : 10268
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyFri 8 Mar 2013 - 0:33

Millionaire Shortbread
Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 0238719_300

I've been getting these from my local corner shop the last week or so & they're excellent, the base is just so crumbly.

90%

Back to top Go down
Balladeer
I'M EVEN LONELIER
Balladeer

Posts : 20924
Points : 19875
Join date : 2013-01-16
Age : 30
Location : Admintown

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyFri 8 Mar 2013 - 7:55

Millionaire shortbreads are one of the best snacks. Mmmmm/10.
Back to top Go down
https://balladsandwords.wordpress.com/
fronkhead
Disciple of Scullion
fronkhead

Posts : 1616
Points : 1694
Join date : 2013-01-18

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyMon 1 Apr 2013 - 23:20

Oh yes. Always feel guilty after eating one. probably the combination of the sugary caramel and buttery shortbread being a bit too indulgent for a 'light snack'. As I keep (well, kept, haven't had one in years sadly) telling myself.
Back to top Go down
The Cappuccino Kid
Brush God
The Cappuccino Kid

Posts : 4509
Points : 4626
Join date : 2013-02-25
Age : 100
Location : East of Mombasa

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyMon 1 Apr 2013 - 23:41

Cadbury Mini Eggs

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Milk-chocolate-mini-eggs-milk-chocolate-mini-eggs_360

Pros:

Arguably the best thing about Easter
Wolfable
Best tasting chocolate out there

Cons:

Sadly not available 365 days a year
Too wolfable - a bag lasts seconds
Absolutely disgraceful for you. Get your arse down the gym, you fat bastard.

85%

Verdict: They're Mini Eggs, aren't they? They're brilliant, and you didn't need this review to tell you that.
Back to top Go down
fronkhead
Disciple of Scullion
fronkhead

Posts : 1616
Points : 1694
Join date : 2013-01-18

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyMon 1 Apr 2013 - 23:51

Woo, the reviews train is back!

Walkers Pure Butter Shortbread

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 115-300w

Pros
These never get old. Nope, never.
Rich, buttery crumbly texture that just melts in the mouth
It's like eating the best cookie dough ever

Cons
32% butter. Yeah, a third of that shortbread stick was pure butter. A third.
Eat something savoury before these and it'll taste like eating cream and butter together.
Addictive. And considering the high butter content, not a wise snack to devour
You'll feel terrible after you finish the pack of two/pack of 16/pack of 32/tin

90%

Back to top Go down
The Cappuccino Kid
Brush God
The Cappuccino Kid

Posts : 4509
Points : 4626
Join date : 2013-02-25
Age : 100
Location : East of Mombasa

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 2 Apr 2013 - 0:23

wOOOOO!!! rEVIEWS tRAIN~!!! Definitely need to keep this going.

You can't go wrong with shortbread. The bar I work in has a constant supply of fresh, homemade shortbread next to the coffee station - it's probably my most eaten food!

Back to top Go down
The_Jaster
I'M SO LONELY
The_Jaster

Posts : 10178
Points : 10268
Join date : 2013-01-15
Age : 35
Location : Underground Corpse Pile.

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 2 Apr 2013 - 0:55

My Easter egg was a mini eggs one, I tried to have just a few of the wee eggs & save the rest for the next day.......it didn't happen.

Ye can't beat a bit if shortbread.
Back to top Go down
Balladeer
I'M EVEN LONELIER
Balladeer

Posts : 20924
Points : 19875
Join date : 2013-01-16
Age : 30
Location : Admintown

Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 EmptyTue 2 Apr 2013 - 7:24

I had champagne truffles in my Easter egg. Drunken /10.
Back to top Go down
https://balladsandwords.wordpress.com/
Sponsored content




Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome   Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome - Page 5 Empty

Back to top Go down
 
Snacks! Reviews/'reviews' welcome
Back to top 
Page 5 of 29Go to page : Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 17 ... 29  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Hasbro's 2.5 foot millenium Falcon
» Scid vs. PC 4.5
» WSCE Rating List for Season 2
» Sonas: Overall review of the FIDE rating system
» Critical moments in chess(2010)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GNamer Forum :: GNamer Forum :: Off Topic-
Jump to: